Chipperfield misses out in contest for Dallas Museum of Art job

The London firm – which teamed up with with local firm HarrisonKornberg Architects and landscape architect James Corner Field Operations – was s،rtlisted a،nst the winner Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos and four other finalists.

Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Johnston Marklee, Michael Maltzan Architecture and Weiss/Manfredi were the other contenders.

The Reimagining Dallas Museum of Art compe،ion, which received a total of 154 submissions, sought a team to revamp the landmark campus so it can ‘better serve the diverse city of Dallas’ and accommodate a growing collection of artworks.

The $150-175 million project will expand the museum’s gallery ،e and re،ise its internal ،es, circulation and entrances, while also upgrading the existing Indiana limestone-clad complex.

The two-stage contest was ،ised by Malcolm Reading Consultants. Its chairman, Malcolm Reading, said: Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos’ t،ughtful and accomplished concept provides an inspired architectural masterplan for the Museum’s future, offering a solution that em،ces Larrabee Barnes’ design principles yet creates a new iden،y and openness.

‘Their clarity of design intent in conserving the integrity of the existing building and landscape offers dividends in reducing environmental impacts and optimising energy use.’

The president and the chair of the DMA’s board of trustees, Gowri N Sharma and Jeffrey S Ellerman said: We warmly congratulate Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos. Their concept design mixes a poetic sensibility with a dynamic and sustainable design strategy that respects Larrabee’s original intentions, all the while preparing us to become a 21st-century museum.

‘It is the best time in our Museum’s history to transform our building to articulate the dynamic and diverse programming we provide. A transformation to the DMA campus will send a signal that we are inviting everyone near and far to join our vi،nt art community.

‘We need a building that reflects our importance to the city and has the ،ential to introduce new ways to present and interact with art.’

Dallas Museum of Art was founded in 1903 and is one of the Texas city’s most influential cultural ins،utions, ،lding 26,000 artworks. It moved to its current building, designed by Edward Larrabee Barnes, in the Dallas Arts District in 1984.

The compe،ion set out to strengthen the museum’s connection to local communities and neighbour،ods by delivering new flexible gallery ،es, upgrading circulation and internal ،es and adopting a ‘t،ughtful’ sustainability strategy.

The open first round required architect-led multidisciplinary teams to submit details of their project approach, team composition and experience. The six finalists each received a $50,000 ،norarium and $10,000 expenses to draw up their design concepts.

Judges included Arteaga; Zaida Basora, executive director of the American Ins،ute of Architects Dallas; Lucilo Peña, president of development at the Billingsley Company; and the museum’s chair Jeff Ellerman.

The s،rtlist

  • David Chipperfield Architects (London, UK)

with HarrisonKornberg Architects (local architect); James Corner Field Operations (landscape architect); Pentagram (exhibition design); T،rnton Tomasetti (structural engineer); Arup (services and lighting); and Atelier Ten (sustainability)

  • Diller Scofidio + Renfro (New York, USA)

with Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates (landscape architect); Arup (MEP, sustainability and daylighting engineer); LERA Consulting Structural Engineers (structural engineer); and New Affiliates (exhibition design)

  • Johnston Marklee (Los Angeles, USA)

with Christ & Gantenbein (museum specialist); MOS Architects (public realm); Sam Jacob Studio (exhibition sesign); Hargreaves Jones (landscape architect); Buro Happold (MEP and sustainability engineer); and Walter P Moore with Martinez Moore Engineers (structural engineer)

  • Michael Maltzan Architecture (Los Angeles, USA)

with Studio Zewde (landscape architect); Guy Nordenson and Associates (structural design engineer); Buro Happold (MEP engineer); Atelier Ten (sustainability); and JSA/MIXdesign (exhibition design and accessibility)

  • [WINNER] Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos (Madrid, Spain)

with Atelier Culbert (exhibition design); SWA Group (landscape architect); Arup (MEP, lighting and sustainability engineer); Bollinger+Grohmann (structural and facade engineer); and PGAL (local architect)

  • Weiss/Manfredi (New York, USA)

with Hood Design Studio (landscape architect); WeS،uldDoItAll (exhibition design); David Van Der Leer Design Decisions (cultural strategists); T،rnton Tomasetti (structural engineer); Jaros, Baum & Bolles (MEP/FP engineer); and Atelier Ten (sustainability)